Make your own free website on

Morristown Lodge No. 193 F.&A.M.

Structure of Freemasonry
Officer's of the Lodge 2007
Pictures of Lodge Events
A Few Words From Our Master
Morristown Lodge Committes
Past Worshipful Master's
History of the Morristown Lodge #193
Upcoming Lodge Events for September 2007
Morristown,IN. Weather
Indiana Masonic Home
Legend of the Blue Slipper
My 1968 Mustang
Knight's Templar
The Builder
Famous Freemasons
Degrees of Freemasonry
Principles of Freemasonry
Structure of Freemasonry
Early Legends of the Craft
Facts Of Freemasonry
History of Freemasonry
Our Purpose
Becoming a Member
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and his Masonic Music
Contact Us

Structure of Freemasonry


Blue Lodge


The Masonic Lodge, often known as Symbolic Lodge, Blue Lodge, or Craft Lodge receives and acts upon petitions for the three degrees in Freemasonry. These degrees are:  Entered Apprentice, Fellow Craft and Master Mason.

There is no higher degree than that of the Master Mason  (the Third Degree). However, for those men who would like to receive additional instruction and explanation regarding the allegory and symbolism learned in the Masonic Lodge there are three additional Appendant or Concordant bodies that can be entered. These are: 


The York Rite


The York Rite is one of the appendant bodies of Freemasonry in which a Master Mason may proceed to supplement and amplify the Blue Lodge degrees, affording historical background on the work and meaning of Freemasonry. The York Rite takes its name from the old English city of York. The York Rite is not a religion in itself, it does, however, develop themes based on the Medieval Crusades.


In the York Rite, A Master Mason may become a member of three bodies -

The Chapter of Royal Arch Masons

The Council of Cryptic Masons (Royal and Select Masters)

The Commandery of the Knights Templar  


The Scottish Rite


The Scottish Rite work amplifies and elaborates the lessons of the Blue Lodge degrees. As with Freemasonry, Scottish Rite is not a religion and it is nondenominational, although it does require a belief in a Supreme Being.


A Master Mason may achieve 29 degrees - the fourth through thirty-second - in the Scottish Rite. Degree structure organisation differs somewhat in various jurisdictions throughout the world. The basic purposes and principles remain the same.

Southern Jurisdiction

Lodge of Perfection (Degrees 4-14)

Chapter of Rose Croix (Degrees15-18)

Council of Kadosh (Degrees19-30)

Consistory (Degrees 31-32)

Supreme Council (33rd Degree)

Northern Jurisdiction

Lodge of Perfection - (Degrees 4 - 14)

Council of Princes of Jerusalem (Degrees 15 -16)

Chapter of Rose Croix (Degrees 17 - 18)

Consistory (Degrees 19 - 32

Supreme Council (33rd Degree)

A 33rd Degree is bestowed on men who have given outstanding service to Freemasonry or to their communities.


The Shriners


 After a Master Mason has achieved the Thirty Second Degree Scottish Rite or the Knights Templar Degree in York Rite, he can petition to become a Noble of the Mystic Shrine.

The Shrine has always been involved in charitable endeavours. 
Today, the Shrine operates orthopaedic hospitals and three burns institutes where children, up to their 18th birthday, regardless of race, religion or relationship to a Shriner, receive excellent medical care... absolutely free.


Webmaster Christopher Voorhis MM